My rat, Twix has passed away today. (9/14/12). We came home from school (it is a Friday) and had to start on our chores. Of, course, my brother and I lollygagged around before we started because we were home alone. (My parents both still at work) As I walked in and out of my room doing laundry, I couldn't help but notice that Twix was laying down on a random spot in the bedding (in the cage), which was unusual in itself. I clucked to her, as I usually do when I want them to come, and she didn't respond. I decided that she was just taking her min-day nap and continued with the laundry. I had a bad feeling though and began to ponder on what I would do I she really was asleep forever. When I got back into my room, I clucked to them again. Snickers, my other rat, came but Twix didn't. The thought nagged at me. I opened the cage door and reached down to nudge her side. Twix's body was stiff (well, actually it felt like a cadrboard stuffed animal) and cool. Frightened by what I had just felt, I pulled my hand away. Then it hit me. She was dead. Dead and never coming back. My throat clenched up and the tears came. Leaving Twix in the cage, I picked up snickers, grabbed a cardboard shoebox, and ran outside. After spray-painting the box black and Sharpieing her name in silver, I went back inside and hesitently picked up my rat. I layed her in an old black shirt and bundled her up. That's when I noticed her tail was very stiff and wouldn't bend, as if it was frozen in place. I placed her inside her box and got a pink stick-note out. I cut that into the shape of a heart and wrote on it, " I <3 you  -Hannah T., Jonathan T." My brother was the one to sign his name, of course. I put that into her box and closed the lid. My lil' rascal must of died of old age because they had food, water, etc. and they are both 2 yr.s old. (Most rats only live 2-3 years) I had had a feeling several months ago that Twix would die first, and that it wouldn't be too far off. Sadly, I was right. So, as I am typing this, holding back the soarness in my throat, I am thinking "mabey we will still go shopping today, It may keep my mind off of things., I hope we won't have karaty (no clue how to spell that) practice tonight. Not in the mood. I am worried about my other rat, Snickers and hoping she won't go into a depression from lonlyness." Well, my nanna has just walked in the door (both parents are still at work) so I'm afraid I'll have to go now.

                                xoxo Twix, I<3 you
                   
                                                             ~Hannah Turley



Leave a Reply.